RSS Feed

Motivational Mondays: The Done List

Anyone else wake up this morning feeling overwhelmed? The dishes aren’t done, the laundry needs folding, revisions have been following you around like a needy stalker?

Yep. Me too. Doesn’t life understand we don’t have time for colds, flu, stress or spousal disputes over where to put the new bed?

Sheesh!

Well, fear not! Today and any day you are feeling like you can’t make heads or tails of you to do list, stop. Yes. STOP. Your brain can get easily overwhelmed and when it does, it goes into shut down mode. In shut down mode, nothing gets done. Instead we get consumed with how we’ll ever get the mountain of tasks done.

First, let’s focus on what we’ve already gotten done.

Grab a pen and paper or open a blank page in Word. NO. Really do this. NOW!

Okay. Ready?

Jot down every little thing you can think of that is no longer on your ‘to do’ list, the sillier and more detailed the better. Here’s mine:

  • Cuddled daughter.
  • Read her a book.
  • Painted bed frame.
  • Put frame together.
  • Avoided strangling husband.
  • Changed TP roll.
  • Folded laundry.
  • Ignored dishes.
  • Blogged once.
  • Blogged twice.
  • Hunted for elusive hunky model for book cover.
  • Took both kids to doctor.
  • Took care of sick family.
  • Answered emails.
  • Brushed teeth.

Phew! I’ve actually gotten far more done this week than I thought!

How about you? What showed up on your done list that surprised you? Better yet, how does all that done feel?

:}Amber Scott, Sugar Mama

About Amber Scott Project

Amber Scott writes romance across time and genre with three things in common: fate, love and complications. You can find her erotica titles at www.LiquidSilverBooks.com.

7 responses »

  1. Great list. My fave item was change TP roll. You made me laugh because, yes, some days that’s a huge accomplishment. Have a great day, Amber!!! (oooo and any luck on the hunky guy for your cover?)

    Reply
    • I tell ya, this week the TP roll was a huge accomplishment.
      The hunky guy hunt is a tough job that is oh so wonderful to work at! It’s going beautifully! Hehe.

      Reply
  2. Thanks I really needed that today!!!

    Be well.

    Reply
  3. I was hoping to have Irish Moon finished today but the day got away from me. BTW I love Ashlon *sigh*…why can’t I ever find a wounded Knight while I’m out walking in the woods? Then I would have had something to cross off my list! Now I’m off to see how much I can finish before I go to bed.

    Reply
  4. I do that list on a daily basis but don’t want to blog about keeping track of all the kids stuff …and laundry .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

