RSS Feed

Motivational Monday: Distance

“Every now and then go away, have a little relaxation, for when you come back to your work your judgment will be surer. Go some distance away because then the work appears smaller and more of it can be taken in at a glance and a lack of harmony and proportion is more readily seen.” -Da Vinci

My ‘work’ is my writing. It is the story I’m immersed in at the moment. It is the step I’ve climbed up to on my career ladder. I long for success.

A key element of the Law of Attraction is detachment. Once you decide what it is you want to attract, the sooner you can be neither desperate nor excited for the thing, the quicker it gets here. In fact, the longing acts as an energetic repellent for it.

But, how do I not long for something I clearly want? How do I get distance? To a great extent it is by giving the longing over to trust and then making a daily practice of pursuing the goal or thing you decide you want. And, it is allowing yourself to enjoy the now, this moment, the process. Have faith your heart’s desire is on its way and then enjoy the moments you spend preparing for its arrival.

While your level of immersion in your goal and work is a reflection of your commitment to it, don’t forget to come up for air and walk away for a spell. This will help create emotional distance. Letting yourself not worry doesn’t mean your goal doesn’t matter. It simply means you are confident in the outcome.

What are you immersed in? What is the thing you long for?

:}Amber Scott

Share

About Amber Scott Project

Amber Scott writes romance across time and genre with three things in common: fate, love and complications. You can find her erotica titles at www.LiquidSilverBooks.com.

5 responses »

  1. Great post, Amber! Love to be immersed in what I’m working on, but yes, walking away sometimes accomplishes more. I long for the time to do both! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Yes Amber, Great post. I think this is one of those things we have to learn on our own. (I remember once knowing my friend HAD to be wrong about “getting away.” Thinking… “I have to churn this out. There’s no time for rest.” Turns out my friend was right. (LOL). I had no idea a break would help so much.

    Reply
  3. I was counting on sending my ms out yesterday. But I had to walk away. I needed some distance to be able to see it all clearly again. I won’t pick it up again until much later today. And if it doesn’t go out until this weekend, so be it. In the end, I want the best of me to be sent.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

