RSS Feed

Motivational Monday: Let’s Suck!

The very best advice I heard as a beginning author was, “Allow yourself to write badly.” This advice, given by a college professor, stuck. It got reinforced when I read No Plot, No Problem by Chris Baty. It is why I join National Novel Writing Month and Script Frenzy every year even when crossing the finish line appears impossible. I’ve heard that Nora Roberts has said she can’t do anything with a blank page. I think this follows that same line.

It means, stink it up. Really, really suck. For one, it’s freeing. For another, I recently read, doing so could allow you to become an expert at your craft. That’s right. An expert. How in the world can writing badly make you anything but frustrated and depressed and wondering why in the world you are cursed to love this thing called writing?

According to The Talent Code by Daniel Coyle, embracing making errors, then focusing your attention on fixing the errors is one of three key components that those who excel at what they do, embrace. Whether it’s soccer or dance or basketweaving, those who allow themselves to screw up and then learn from the screw ups, every single day, a little at a time, can push through a skill envelope where most settle at the seal.

So, this week, I’m going to celebrate the fixes, rejoice in the revisions, keeping in mind that writing badly will bring me incrementally closer to brilliance.

Will it be as simple as it sounds? Wanna find out?

:}Amber Scott

Share

About Amber Scott Project

Amber Scott writes romance across time and genre with three things in common: fate, love and complications. You can find her erotica titles at www.LiquidSilverBooks.com.

5 responses »

  1. Donna Del Grosso

    This came at an awesome time! I’ve laid off writing for a few weeks for various reasons and am having to get back at it and deep edit. I’m flipping terrified at what I’ll see! Maybe if I think it’s okay to suck it won’t be so bad. =)

    Reply
    • Oh, my. See, you’ve hit on one of my deepest fears. If I allow myself to suck even more than I already do, I just know I’ll be hit by a bus one day and all that will be left with be the POS drafts. Then people will shake their heads and say, “Poor thing, she really was a TERRIBLE writer.”

      Maybe I should password protect all my stuff in the even of my demise. lol

      However, I did find something I had written in a WIP one day where it said “next bit is just vomiting words to get something written.” What came next was actually not so horrible. Sure, it sucked a little, but I was able to start fixing it so it wasn’t too terrible.

      Maybe this IS the key after all…

      Reply
      • Keep at it, Kate! And remember, even if we end up in the annals as hacks, we’ll have had fun trying!

      • Kate-
        I did go back and re-read my early chapters and as predicted… they suck, A lot! But enough complaining I’m going to go to it like a dental hygenist with a pick and hack away!

    • Oh, I am so glad! Getting back in a daily rhythm can be the biggest challenge of all. Just focus on the fun and know every little step is a step closer!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

