RSS Feed

P.P.I.F.: Maggie Stiefvater

Like Tom sings, the waiting is the hardest part. While the four Touched By An Alien by Gini Koch copies travel, as Shadow Bound by Erin Kellison and Mind Games by Carolyn Crane readers race to the five read finish line, I shall share with you my latest most favorite reads.

Why? Because it’s something to blog about. Because they won’t be debut authors yet I  want to pay forward a phenomenal read that I learned from as an author.

You with me? Sweet!

First up, Maggie Stiefvater.

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater came recommended by my friend’s teenage daughter. She’s a fan of Laurrell K. Hamilton and said she hated Twilight. This girl is precocious with attitude. I totally dig her. So, I bought Shiver.

First, I should admit, though I feel utterly guilty about it, that I looked up Shiver online and upon discovering Maggie Stiefvater (steve-otter) made the shadowbox book video herself AND wrote and played it’s theme song, which you can buy at Borders, I balked. I thought, whoa, this chick is WAY into her book and characters.

Then I read Shiver and her level of immersion into her fictional words shows. Shiver astounded me. Maggie Stiefvater’s writing is simple and clean which allows for brilliant lines like, “I’d found heaven and grabbed it as tightly as I could, but it was unraveling, an insubstantial thread sliding between my fingers, too fine to hold” to shine. What I love most about this story is that it reveals the best things in life often come from the hardest, the ugliest, and the tragic.

I strive for the level of immersion Maggie Stiefvater reaches with her novels. They must be real to her and, so, real to me as a reader. I am a lifelong fan and will happily buy anything she writes.

:}Amber Scott

Share

About Amber Scott Project

Amber Scott writes romance across time and genre with three things in common: fate, love and complications. You can find her erotica titles at www.LiquidSilverBooks.com.

One response »

  1. Hmmm… I’ve still not tried this series. I will put it on my wishlist.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

