RSS Feed

Motivational Mondays: Why OH Why!?

On my Facebook page, if you scroll down, you’ll find my favorite Flair button. It’s a cat, yowling “Why?!”

All weekend, a part of me has been yowling that same question. Why? Because I received another rejection to line my locker. I know it’s only one. I know I can submit elsewhere, and I did, post haste. Still, the question nags. Why, oh why, am I doing this to myself? So, I’m going to apply one of the activities of  my and  Ann Charles‘ workshop “Diapers To Deadlines: Find Time to Write–No Matter WHAT!”

It’s the five why rule of psychology.

1. Amber, why do you write?

Because I’ve dreamed of seeing my books on shelves next to my favorite authors. Authors like Erin Quinn, Kathryne Kennedy, Gini Koch, Julia Quinn. I see theirs and long for mine to join them.

2. Why?

Because Johanna Lindsey novels gave me an escape from awful teen years growing up in a toxic, unstable household with an uncertain future. Fiction gives me solace.

3. Why?

Because I want to matter. I want to be relevant, to be able to hold my head high and know all those people who thought I was nothing were wrong.

4. Why?

Because I fear they were right. Worse. Because I fear no one ever thought such a thing. I fear I think I am nothing.

5. Why?

Because deep, deep down in my belly, beneath the fear, I love writing. I love drowning into a daydream. I love the thrill and joy and satisfaction that comes with wowing a reader. And when I do, when I can make my hard to win over Critique Partner race to read Irish Moon’s next chapter, when I hear a story I wrote, like Jessie’s Girl, opened doors, none of the other why’s matter. I know down to my soul that this is what I love, this is where I am most myself.

The pleasure is worth the pain.

And now I can sigh in relief, instead of yowl in pain.

Once you know your core ‘why’, no amount of rejection will take you down. So, why do you write?

:}Amber Scott


Share

About Amber Scott Project

Amber Scott writes romance across time and genre with three things in common: fate, love and complications. You can find her erotica titles at www.LiquidSilverBooks.com.

12 responses »

  1. *hug*
    I can tell you I’m reading ‘The Best Revenge’ at the moment and am loving it.

    Reply
  2. Go Amber! You will have a book on the shelf, no doubt about that. It only takes one yes. Hang in there-it’s coming.

    Reply
    • Amber Scott Project

      Thank you, Erin! Speaking of books on my shelf. Your book, Shadow Bound is on mine and is very lonely for the next one in the series! I LOVE the premise for this series.

      Reply
  3. I write to shut up the voices in my head, or at least get them into a semi-orderly queue and keep their whining down to a dull roar.

    Never give up, on yourself or your dream. Time is a funny thing…it takes “forever” to get where you want to be, and yet the time flies at the same time. Enjoy the journey…it’s probably the most important part of the process.

    Reply
  4. Donna Del Grosso

    Amber-
    I think I’ll always write because no matter what They say, Dang it… I’m good! And so are you. I’d like to think of a rejection as… just another notch on my lipstick case!

    Reply
    • Amber Scott Project

      You are good, Donna! The really lovely thing is, you don’t even know how good you are yet. But I do.

      Reply
  5. What a lovely post! Thanks for writing this.
    ~~~
    I write because I believe, when I write, there is an energy that is imbued in the words and when people read it, they are simultaneously connected to the ‘imaginings’ and thereby, further connected with the natural world around them. 🙂
    ~~~
    Put more simply, I write because I, as every single one of us, is a co-creator. As such, I will use my powers for good. 😉

    With Love and Gratitude,

    The Intentional Sage

    Reply
  6. Fantastic post. I write because not writing would be like asking me not to breathe. My branding coach figures it takes about 50-75 rejections to find the right fit, so he wants me to collect rejection letters. You’re collecting letters that are proof you are following your dream.

    Reply
  7. Thanks for this, Amber. It really helped me to solidfy some of the changes I’ve been going through lately with regard to how & what I write.

    Now I’m going to have blog about it. With full credit to you, of course. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

