RSS Feed

All The Good Men…Here!

AS:  Special welcome and thanks to Cindy Jacks today, who’s dealt with my technical difficulties with huge patience. Thank you, Cindy and welcome. Let’s jump in. You have several works in progress as well as an alter ego, CJ Elliott. What do you think it is about this diversity that satisfies your muse, Brighid?

CJ: In general, I’m the kind of person who always has to try something new to keep myself entertained. I’ve tried everything from scuba diving to Tango lessons so I think that impulse to experiment comes through in my writing. Not to mention that my muse has attention-deficit disorder. I always have two or three active writing projects and an endless backlog. Sometimes I have to bribe her with chocolate and champagne to get her to focus!

AS: I must say, you have excellent taste! I drooled over every pic on your hotlist but Timothy Olyphant is just too delicious! Justified is my new most favorit-est show! What is it about the show and his character you dig most?

CJ: The character named Raylan that Timothy plays exudes unapologetic masculinity, but he’s also genteel—it’s an intoxicating combination. Plus, the show’s writing is so sharp, it’s my new favorit-est show too, lol.

AS: Fill in some blanks for us:

CJ: Live joyfully, or die a little bit everyday.

If you can’t bend, then you’ll surely break.

5 things I can’t live without are my family, my laptop, red wine, dancing, and Skittles.

AS: What’s your favorite part of your writing process? Least favorite?

CJ: My favorite part of the writing process is the rush I feel when everything’s clicking and I’m on a roll. Not to sound too conceited, but there are times I can tell what I’m writing is brilliant, lol. My least favorite part is editing. I know it’s necessary a necessary evil, but it’s sooooo painful. Luckily, I have some fantastic editors who make the process suck less.

AS: Who would play your lead hero, Jackson, and heroine, Dahlia, in All the Good Men?

CJ: For Jackson I always envision Eric Dane from Grey’s Anatomy—mmmmm, McSteamy. And for Dahlia, I think Ashley Judd would do a splendid job. She’s such a strong, smart woman.

AS: What song would play during their hottest love scene? Opening credits?

CJ: Oooh, great question. I always listen to music when I write so this is right up my alley. For the opening credits I hear The Pretenders “Brass in Pocket.” As for the hottest love scene, it’s gotta be Bruce Springsteen’s, “I’m on Fire.” That song moves me every time I hear it.

AS: Great songs, Cindy! Love those. Thanks so much for coming today, Cindy! Reader, don’t miss Cindy’s links:

website: http://cindyjacks.com/

facebook: http://www.facebook.com/author.cindy.jacks/

blog: http://cindyjacks.blogspot.com/

BUY IT NOW!: http://www.moongypsypress.com/jacks.php

In the spirit of Cindy’s heroine, reader, what was your worst date ever?

***

All The Good Men

by Cindy Jacks

Dahlia is sure the hackneyed platitude is true: After a certain age, all the good men are married or gay. She feels her thirty-eight years put her well past that ‘certain age.’ Her best friend and her sisters dare her to put her fate where her mouth is. The terms of the challenge? During the month of October, she has to end her five-year-long man fast and go on dates with men of their choosing. Oh, and she also has to go out with anyone else who asks.

As the date disasters pile up, the vindication almost makes the torturous evenings bearable for Dahlia. But a handsome new neighbor, Jackson Carmichael, moves in, changing the rules of the game. Retired after twenty-six years as a pro firefighter in Boston, he volunteers with the local fire department, coaches a youth hockey team, and appears for all the world to be the perfect man. He just might throw a wrench into Dahlia’s plan to die lonely and single…that is if she doesn’t scare him away first.

***

:}Amber Scott

Share

About Amber Scott Project

Amber Scott writes romance across time and genre with three things in common: fate, love and complications. You can find her erotica titles at www.LiquidSilverBooks.com.

13 responses »

  1. Woot! Great answers Cindy!!!

    Reply
  2. Thanks, Brea 🙂 Amber’s such a great host, I really enjoyed the interview!

    Reply
  3. I love how you picked actors and actresses to bring your characters to life. I do that , too. It’s a lot of fun to imagine them in our characters’ roles! Music is the soundtrack of our lives, so I also enjoyed hearing what songs you would play during their hottest love scene.
    I couldn’t do without my family, friends, chicken soup, sunny days, and music.

    Reply
  4. I love “I’m on Fire” for a love scene. I’ll have to try that one! Your book sounds like a lot of fun. Your answers to Amber’s questions made me want to read it even more. Thanks for sharing–I enjoyed the interview.

    Ann Charles

    Reply
  5. Great interview.
    My worst date was when my brother set me up with one of his friends, who took me to a concert of a band I thought was terrible and I accidentally said something right at the start of the date that he took as an insult. Ergh….

    Reply
    • Oh, Carien, I feel for you! All the bad dates in the book are actually true. They didn’t happen to me all at once, but they did happen during the times I’ve been single. *Sigh* what we go through to find a good match, lol.

      Reply
      • Amber Scott Project

        That is seriously funny, Cindy. I love that part of your premise so much.

  6. I just wanted to say how much I enjoy the excerpts.

    Reply
  7. Hi Andrea! So glad you enjoyed the excerpts. You’ve made my day 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

