RSS Feed

Motivational Mondays: Worth

I love to study the Law Of Attraction and three major keys to its success are Intention, Gratitude  and Worthiness.

Intention means not only knowing what you want, but, honestly, why you want it.

Gratitude is an attitude that you project onto every little detail in your life, from the friend who calls to say hello to the water that comes out clean from your faucet for you to drink.

The hard part for me, aside from the ability to be honest with myself about what I really want, which is tied in to, my worthiness. The interesting part is I alone determine my worth. Not God, not the IRS, not the fancy label on my purse or the big name publisher on my query letter.

Me. In order to attract good things, I must know, deep down, that I deserve those good things. When it comes to writers, we all hope to become the next Cinderella story. We dream of huge, easy overnight success that proves to the world that we are meant for this destiny. The thing is, we also fear it.

What? Fear success? Fear fame and fortune? Yes. Because success alienates. “I don’t want people to think I think I’m better than them.” Because success is earned. “If I get what all my peers want so badly, without working as hard, do I deserve it?” These are thoughts I have had more than once.

When I get my big contract or bestseller status or any of my other dreams fulfilled, I want to feel I’ve earned it.

Have we earned the call from a friend? Have we earned the free water? How? By being a good friend, by paying our taxes? Or is it simply since we haven’t hinged our hopes on their outcome that they come freely, so that we come to expect them?

The fallacy is that I think I can control the sales and opinions that create the Cinderella story. I can’t! All I can do is write my very best story, with the intention of emotionally satisfying my reader. I can be grateful for every moment of the process. I can remember I deserve success. And in doing so, attract the opportunities that will lead to my dreams coming true.

Because a dream is a wish your heart makes, right?! I deserve it. And so do you.

:}Amber Scott

Share

About Amber Scott Project

Amber Scott writes romance across time and genre with three things in common: fate, love and complications. You can find her erotica titles at www.LiquidSilverBooks.com.

9 responses »

  1. Well put, Amber! Sometimes we are our own worst enemies. We sabotage our own successes because of the fear of the actual result and followup consequences. I choose to dream the big dreams as I fall off to sleep. But during my waking hours, like you, I work on writing the best damn story I can, thinking positively because it does lead to positive results, and being proactive regarding the path I choose to follow and steps I need to take for success. And when things seem a little dark and depressing, I remind myself that if I accomplish SOMEthing everyday, no matter what it is, no matter how small, I am a success that day. And then all the little successes accumulate into one big success.

    Reply
    • amberscottproject

      I so agree with you, Deena. Baby steps. One word then one sentence to one paragraph and so on until we have something to work with. Keeping busy helps keep the doubt demons at bay. Thanks, Hot Lava Mama!

      Reply
  2. Kelly Anderson

    I have begun to really, really look forward to Motivational Mondays and since I am trying to reform myself from “lurking”…I am trying to leave comments instead of just reading and agreeing…but never letting you know. I love your blog and I identify with all the range of emotions that you go through. I too fantasize about that Cinderella story and the million dollar contract that is off the 1st thing I write. Lol..it’s good to dream, but the reality is that I put a lot of hard work and sweat and tears into the project and hope for the best. I worry that people will not laugh at the spots intended to evoke a laugh or that they wont identify with my characters.

    I want success, but at the same time, that success is nice as a dream with no deadlines, no edits and no bad reviews. But I have time…time to finish my manuscript and then begin that whole nightmarish process. Hopefully, I will be able to stop sweeping and sleeping on the hearth…don a lovely gown and glass slippers and run off to dance all night.

    Reply
    • amberscottproject

      Kelly! I’m so thrilled you came out of lurking and that you’re enjoying these installments. Every single one, I hit publish thinking, well, Am, they all might laugh at you but at least you’re out there, at least you’re trying. Knowing someone else ‘gets’ it makes it worth it. You and me, girl, we’ll dance the night away! Now, where is that eff-ing fairy godmother….

      Reply
  3. Lynne Marino

    I have printed this Monday’s thoughts out and taped them near my computer and on my fridge, where I too often find myself lurking when I’m stuck on a chapter. Wise words indeed, and the reason why I suspect many of us, especially women, allow ourselves to get stuck in the muck.

    Reply
    • amberscottproject

      I really agree with you, Lynne. We women are so hard on ourselves. Here’s to staying unstuck and remembering you rock!

      Reply
  4. You always know how to express the things I’m feeling, but can’t put words to myself, which leaves me with saying: I so agree with you.

    Reply
  5. You have a golden tongue, woman. I love it when you whisper in my ear with these kind of motivational words and ideas. You always make me believe I can fly. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

