RSS Feed

Motivational Mondays: Get & Give

“The fact is: Whatever you think the world is withholding from you, you are withholding from the world. You are withholding it because deep down you think you are small and that you have nothing to give.” -Eckhart Tolle, A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose.

I love self-help, new age, spiritual books. I think to be a better writer, being an emotionally healthier and more free person helps. Martha Beck is one of my stand-by faves, but after my uncle recommended this one, and he’s eighty-five and so might know a thing or two, I tried Eckhart Tolle out.

This line effected me profoundly.

Ohhhh, I thought. In order to get a successful writing career, I have to be willing to give it as well. Give quality time to let my muse play. Give time to other writers. Give a peer bestseller status by telling the world about their work. Give good, humorous comments to others’ blogs. Teach what I know. Praise peers. Be sincere. Envy is nothing more than fear and insecurity. To fight it, give more. And do it all without the keeping track or expecting something back.

The wonderful part is, once I began acting with this mentality, I no longer worried about if I get a thing. The giving is so fulfilling, so enriching, that I no longer care.

I’ll write, revise, submit, write some more. The actual success of my career will take care of itself. In a way, that part isn’t actually any of my business.

Its yours.

:}Amber Scott

Share

About Amber Scott Project

Amber Scott writes romance across time and genre with three things in common: fate, love and complications. You can find her erotica titles at www.LiquidSilverBooks.com.

9 responses »

  1. Donna Del Grosso

    Nice blog, Amber. I think Tolle is right. When you look deep at yourself, you tend to find the things wrong in other people that are really wrong with you. If you look at life from Tolle’s persective, you begin to be a better person.
    My hubby brushes up on Sun Tzu And The Art Of War about this time of year. He’ll ask me to read a passage. I think some of the philosophies there can be applied to life as well as writing. better get at it!

    Reply
  2. Amber –

    Nice points about motivation and especially about envy – I find myself envious at times but know I have it within myself to get there as well, I just have to keep plugging away. Insecure? You betcha. Aren’t all writers? Our creative minds are constantly battling w/that ‘other lobe’ – you know the one. It wants quantitative proof we’re doing a good job, when all we can give it are more written pages and rejections. So how do we measure ourselves creatively to see if we’re accomplishing things? Some people have ‘notes to self’; I have ‘goals to self’. Today, it was getting out of bed (I’m sick once again) and getting my butt in the chair to write. Since I don’t have to work today, it should be easy – but there’s always that niggling question, am I taking my book in the right direction? Will my attitude stilt it? My answer is, yes, this is a part of life, and yes, yes, keep moving forward!

    Reply
    • amberscottproject

      Boo on being sick! But I wish you a wonderful day of writing filled with words flying onto the blank page.

      Reply
  3. Great philosophy, Amber! And I agree — the only thing we can really control in this business is what we write, what we put out there. We can’t control which agent will be “the one”, we can’t control which publisher will buy, or which book. All we can control is what we produce and our own outlooks on the world. (And I happen to love yours. :-D)

    Reply
    • amberscottproject

      Thanks, Gini! I have to remind myself often but when I do, it makes everything so much easier.

      Reply
  4. A great way of looking at things!
    I must say I agree with this philosophy.

    Reply
  5. I read The Secret and started the DVD but I admit, I let other things interfere with it all. I know Tolle was a best seller for a while (thank to Oprah) but hadn’t read the book. I shall now check it out of the library and see what it’s all about.

    In thinking on this, I have to agree with your last paragraph. It’s not in the expectation of what you reap but in the opening yourself up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

