RSS Feed

Nebula’s Music by Aubrie Dionne

Today, it is my pleasure to welcome Nebula’s Music author Aubrie Dionne.

Hi, Aubrie! I’m so pleased to have you by today. Let’s jump right in.

AS: You thrive on keeping several projects going at once. When it comes to writing, are you a plotter or a pantser? When it comes to goals, are you a tortoise or a hare?

AD: These are very good questions! I start by being a panster with some semblance of an idea that I think is really cool, such as a cyborg made from a human, or a messenger that has a letter she doesn’t want to deliver, and go from there. After I get into writing, I definitely outline and plot way beforehand to make sure the story gets where it needs to go. As for speed writing, I’m more of a tortoise. I write much better if I have time to think about the scene and the characters’ reactions.

AS: What did stepping outside your comfort zone while writing Lion’s Heart you about writing?

AD: Lion’s Heart is a short story that steps out of my comfort zone in two different ways. 1. It’s told from a teenage boy’s viewpoint, and 2. The setting is Africa, a place I’ve never been! Writing this taught me how to think outside myself, how to research by looking at pictures and reading about animals and plants in a different geographical area, and how to be creative and realistic at the same time!

AS: How does being a musician and teacher contribute to your creativity and writing process?

AD: Definitely the diligence, determination, and work ethic from learning music has transferred into writing. You have to pick up your instrument and practice everyday, and you have to write everyday as well. Also, when you take music lessons, you are criticized every time you play by your teacher to make you better. This has definitely helped me deal with critiques on my writing.

AS: Fill in some blanks for us:

AD: If I had a million _jelly beans___________, I’d ____eat them all!_________.

Chocolate is ____always good for dessert!___________.

If at first you don’t ___get accepted______________, try ____writing something else!___________.

AS: What one writing tool or trick could you not live without and why?

AD: My imagination! I write fantasy and sci-fi, and most of it (especially the sci-fi part because I was never good at science!) is pure imagination.

Thanks for the interview, Amber!

AS: My pleasure! Thank you again for coming by, Aubrie. Find Aubrie at her website, blog or on Amazon.

Reader, fill in a blank for us, too! Chocolate is ____________!

~~~

Nebula’s Music

Each note brings her one step closer to the truth.

When the cyborg Nebula plays the piano she experiences memories from a time before her creation. These memories—which involve a captive rebel fighter being held on their ship—bring with them complex human feelings and awaken a desire for her to discover her origins.

Radian is the long-lost love of the woman from which Nebula was made. He’s vowed to avenge his finance’s death and rescue her sister from the Gryphonites, a fierce race out to enslave the galaxy. Nebula grapples with her identity and how much of who she is comes from someone else’s past. She is not the woman that died, yet she is undeniably drawn to Radian.

Together Nebula and Radian seek to rescue his fiancé’s sister and end the Gryphonites’ cruel reign. But can Radian learn to love again and can Nebula accept a past made from someone else’s memories?

~~~

Share

About Amber Scott Project

Amber Scott writes romance across time and genre with three things in common: fate, love and complications. You can find her erotica titles at www.LiquidSilverBooks.com.

3 responses »

  1. I’m loving finding out more about you Aubrey. I do agree about ‘being creative and realistic at the same time.’ A definite requisite for futuristic romance writers I think.

    As for chocolate – it’s the one luxury I find difficult to resist and makes a good reward for something like finishing a chapter – or 50.000 words of NaNo!

    Reply
  2. Thanks Hywelalyn! And thanks, Amber, for the interview.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

