RSS Feed

Motivational Monday: Raising Your Books Right

I know I’m not the first author to think of her works in progress as babies.  The sleepless nights, the gray hair, the worry, the joy. That first giggle. My writing is my baby. Not just each book, but writing as a whole is my third child.

Describing this attitude to my fellow writer, the hugely talented Ann Charles, recently, a thought struck me: If my writing is my child, what kind of parent am I being?

Do I unconditionally love, nurture and accept my child? Am I neglectful, competitive, stifling? How do I handle my discipline choices, the ever crucial milestone of revision training and that bittersweet first day in submissions? What’s my attitude toward it’s health and socialization skills?

No book parent is perfect and that includes me. I don’t want to be but I would like to improve. But how can I be a better book parent so that my writing child reaches it’s fullest potential and we both have a loving, adventure filled journey we both can be proud of?

In a seven part series, I’ll explore the many facets of raising my book babies right. I hope you’ll join me in sharing your own parenting highs and lows, hopes and fears, trials and triumphs. Because it is never too late to become a better book parent.

:}Amber Scott

Share

About Amber Scott Project

Amber Scott writes romance across time and genre with three things in common: fate, love and complications. You can find her erotica titles at www.LiquidSilverBooks.com.

3 responses »

  1. You mean now I have to add parental guilt about my books to the parental guilt I already have about my daughter?! Oy vey! 🙂

    Actually, that’s an interesting way of looking at it.

    Reply
    • amberscottproject

      Boy oh boy, do I hear you! Every night I worry, did I do my best? Could I be doing more? How do I keep my dreams safe and help them fly. But, don’t worry. Parental guilt will be one of the many topics we’ll attack so we can go to bed each night knowing, we are doing our absolute best and our careers will do just fine.
      :}Amber

      Reply
  2. 1stturningpoint

    This is a series I don’t want to miss! We are so hard on our books and our writing careers. So judgmental, so insecure at times, so uncertain at others. Am I choosing the right path for my baby? Should I be exploring other options? Should I hold out for the “best” for it?

    I’m looking forward to reading more, Amber. And thanks for the kudos. You are the best career coach for me (and my baby) ever! You always know the right thing to say to keep me driving onward and upward.

    Write on,
    Ann Charles

    Reply

Leave a Reply

