RSS Feed

Cross Promotion?

Last week the super awesome boots I ordered arrived in the mail. I adore these boots. They’re a little bit Tahoe and a little bit Robin Hood. Along with my package, three samples were included. Tampons, a pantyliner and a disposable razor.

Seriously.

Did I mention the store I bought my boots from caters to teens?

At first, I thought, how hilarious! It’s been my favorite funny story for a week! But then I got to thinking. In actuality, it’s smart. One, it’s a freebie and who doesn’t love a freebie? Two, it’s a great age range to win lifetime purchasing loyalty. Three, it’s a win win. Both the retailer and the product company make a good impression. Buy here, get stuff. FREE stuff.

So, my thought is, how can an author do this? No, I’m not saying throw in products with your book purchase. But, instead, what if authors shared access to chapters, buy links, etc. to their fellow authors? Or is this already happening and I’m slow on the uptake?

Can an author give additional value to their readers experience? And, how?

:}Amber

Share

About Amber Scott Project

Amber Scott writes romance across time and genre with three things in common: fate, love and complications. You can find her erotica titles at www.LiquidSilverBooks.com.

One response »

  1. Perhaps when someone links to your page, you reward them with a free paragraph – maybe at random – or perhaps a best fit with some keyword they type, like yacht, creme brule or sweaty…

    Seriously, I work with a Scifi author who will custom publish a book with parameters you specify (you as main character, other characters, place names, etc. He regained rights to previously published books and made a home publishing setup.

    JT

    Reply

Leave a Reply

