RSS Feed

NANOWRIMO

I’ve signed up for National Novel Writing Month once again and I am raring to go. This will by the fifth year I participate and, hopefully, the third time I cross the 50,000 word finish line. In previous years I went in headlong by the seat of my pants with nothing more than a starting scene and character names, maybe a vague idea of a premise. Wanted, my second win, got picked up by Liquid Silver Books. But it was a huge endeavor to revise and edit.

The only rule with NANOWRIMO is you cannot write a single word until November. You can plot, diagram, interview, case study and research to your heart’s content. I have done little of this in previous years.

This year, I’m using the Marshall Plan for Novel Writing software for preparation. So far, I’ve created solid character sketches on my four main characters, including their fatal flaws, GMC, and loads of conflict. This software got me thinking about my characters at a whole new level. I’ve only plotted about a fourth of the way in, and this will be an 85,000 words once completed, but my plan is to plot ahead as I follow it in writing. It’s a plotter-pantser approach.

The test will be, does this software make not only my first draft an easier feat, but will it make the rewriting less painful? I know this so far: I usually don’t ‘know’ my characters this well until we’ve spent 100 or so pages together. Because of this, my early chapters end up needing the most work and suffer the knife most.

So, over the next month, my posts will be scant, half-witted reports on my progress through the insanity. I cannot wait!

:}Amber

About Amber Scott Project

Amber Scott writes romance across time and genre with three things in common: fate, love and complications. You can find her erotica titles at www.LiquidSilverBooks.com.

6 responses »

  1. I didn’t realize I had to sign up somewhere. I was just going to do it willy-nilly on my own.

    Reply
    • amberscottproject

      Signing up makes it more fun because then you can cheer each other on, have word races and so on. Plus, there’s always someone you’re ahead of.

      Reply
  2. I’d love to hear how the software is working for you. I was considering buying it, but not sure if it would work for me. In the meantime, I ordered his workbook and am waiting for that to arrive.

    Reply
    • amberscottproject

      It’s worth every penny. It’s really helping me get past the now what’s I that generally bog down my progress.

      Reply
      • Cool, thanks! That’s something I struggle with, too. It’s the sad reason why I have so many unfinished manuscripts on my computer!

      • amberscottproject

        My friend Jenny is the exact same way. She’s an editor, too. Must be in the editing blood, eh? The thing is, if you do finish, you’re end product will be sooo good. I’ve read your stuff. It needs so much less revision than writing like mine.

Leave a Reply

