RSS Feed

Devil in the Details

Alright. I admit it. I’m the hare, not the tortoise. I don’t always look before I leap and am not generally the least bit tentative in putting myself out there. I can’t help it. I get excited. And impatient.

So, it is my own fault. I misunderstood a couple vital details in the Dorchester Next Best Celler Contest. One, I marked my entry as complete, thinking, yes, by golly, it is a completed manuscript. Not what they meant. They mean, has it’s little run completed. As in, is this a new item to subscribe to or an old, completed one. Well, at least I was able to change that little detail. Next, proactive little bee that I am, I entered all my chapters up front. Then I found out that this is not recommended. Again, the subscriber thing. To remedy, I’m adding more than the minimum required chapters, one at a time over the remaining contest days. Then there’s the blurb. I thought I had only 100 characters in which to hook a reader with my brilliant quip. Not at all. It’s a hundred minimum. Again, fixed, elaborated, hopefully more hooking.

The thing is, better late than never, except had I a few mommy brain cells left and more sleep (excuses, excuses), I’d have more thoroughly understood how the thing works.

Another lesson learned.

In other news, I’m digging the latest Weezer release. I’m a huge fan!

:}Amber

About Amber Scott Project

Amber Scott writes romance across time and genre with three things in common: fate, love and complications. You can find her erotica titles at www.LiquidSilverBooks.com.

2 responses »

  1. Hey Amber,

    You’re right about reading those little details. 🙂 They can really catch you if you’re not careful. I think I must have read the rules about 20 times…a day! hehe

    By the way, on Textnovel if the manuscript is marked “completed” it means that readers can read the entire finished work. It doesn’t mean the work is old…not sure where you heard that, but I wanted to help clarify that for you. The other option is “in progress”, which means the author is still working on it and hasn’t posted the entire work.

    Although one author in the Dorchester contest listed her work as completed, she hasn’t posted all of it. I think she just wanted the judges to know the novel is finished. I chose to mention that on my first page and keep the “in progress” status as I’ve posted about 3/4 of Lancelot’s Lady.

    Hope this helps. I also hope you’ve had fun with this contest. I know I have. 🙂 It was definitely different.

    All the best to you with all your writing endeavors!!

    Cheryl Kaye Tardif,
    aka Cherish D’Angelo,
    author of Lancelot’s Lady (a semi-finalist in the Next Best Celler contest)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

