RSS Feed

Interview: Anida Adler, The Ancient

“What would you do if you fell in love with the goddess of death?” The Ancient by Anida Adler

 I’m pleased to welcome Anida Adler, author of The Ancient, today. Please feel free to say hello or ask a question by clicking on “comment” at the bottom of this post.

AS: How was the idea for The Ancient born?TheAncient_coverfr

AA: The main characters, Morrigán and Tadhg, appeared briefly in my alter ego’s debut novel, The Pebble.  My alter ego is Nadia Williams, who is way too tame to allow herself to write the spicier stuff.  I had this idea in my head of what this Irish goddess would be like, and decided to pair her with an opposite, just for fun.  Soon, I started wondering how exactly this strange couple got together.  I wrote the book almost to explain it to myself. 

Its heat level is very different from that of The Pebble, as I don’t sit down to write a book that is either hot or not hot.  I am possessed by a story, and write it as it needs to be written.  If that means lots of sex, so much the better.

AS: If it were up to you, what actors would play your characters on the big screen and why?

AA: Tadhg is easy.  I’d ask Hugh Jackman to play him, because Jackman is the closest I could find to a picture of what Tadhg looked like in my mind’s eye.  Also, he’s yummy. 

Morrigán is more difficult.  I think Angelina Jolie could do a good job of portraying her, as she has that bit of darkness in her soul.  Would Nicole Kidman look good with dark hair?  She’s a good enough actress to do the character justice, and her naturally pale skin would be about right.  Note how with the male, I just worry about him being yummy, while with the female, I’m all “Ooh, will she be able to portray the character right?”

Hmmm.  Projection, methinks…

AS: What is your writing schedule and how do you make time to write?

AA: What’s a schedule?  Oh, wait, I remember those. 

I’m a very scatterbrained person, so I really struggle to keep to any kind of schedule.  What usually happens is that I write and write until something becomes so urgent that I cannot possibly postpone it any longer.  As a fulltime writer, it’s not that difficult for me to make time for writing, though even writing fulltime, I’m often frustrated when a hundred other things get in the way.  Because writers usually don’t make much money, and I’m no exception, something I put as many hours and more into than someone else would put into a regular job, is not taken very seriously.  But I’m nothing if not single-minded and obsessed, and I found my commitment and dedication to my calling helped me so far to find a way where there seems to be none.

AS: What do you love most about your experience with Loose ID?

AA: I adored how anal they are with spelling, grammar, punctuation, all that stuff, because I am like that myself.  I don’t hold a candle to their proofreaders and editors, though. 

This professionalism would have counted for naught, though, if it wasn’t combined with a wonderful human touch and a genuinely friendly editor.  I found Ann Curtis a pleasure to work with.

AS: You also write as Nadia Williams. What inspired your new Anida Adler alter ego?

AA: Anida is the name of my godmother, my mom’s best friend.  When my mom was expecting me, she phoned Anida and said that if it was a girl, she wanted to name her after Anida.  However, Anida always despised her name and went through life called by her nickname.  She begged my mom not to saddle me with the name she hated.  So my mom sat down and played around with the letters a bit, and came up with Nadia.  I’ve never understood Anida’s dislike of her name, as I think it’s very lovely. 

‘Adler’ is a German surname, it means noble eagle.  My ancestors on my father’s side were German, and I thought an eagle is a good comparison for a writer.  You see the whole picture, as if from above, and tell the story from that point of view.

AS: What is your favorite excuse to procrastinate writing related tasks?

AA: “I have to finish this book.”  That would be the favorite excuse.  I don’t watch TV, so reading is my relaxation.  Sadly, I’m as single-minded and obsessed when I read as I am when I write, so to function normally, without my brain being actually on some other plane altogether, I have to finish the story.  It seldom takes me more than a day to finish reading a book, and very rarely more than two days.

AS: Considering news like Barnes & Noble buying Fictionwise and new publishing opportunities like Amazon Kindle, Smashwords.com and Scribd.com, how do you envision the future of publishing?

AA: I’m afraid you’ve touched on something of an obsession there with me.  I find the whole e-publishing/trade publishing question to be very interesting.

I remember reading a book review not long ago, in which the writer of the review said something along the lines of: “I’ve kept an eye on the author’s career from her beginnings with electronic publishers all the way to the New York Times Bestseller list.”  To my mind, more and more new authors will have to take this route (though of course not all of us will end up on the NYT list, of course).  Because of the very nature of electronic publishing, these houses can be more adventurous, nurture new talent and take chances on edgy books that inhabit the cracks between genres.  And because of the very nature of traditional publishing, those houses are unable to gamble the big money layout they are obliged to make on new, untested talents. 

Unfortunately, the reality is that no other genres have been as succesful in e-publishing as romance and erotica.  There are some books you just want to have in paper and ink, to lovingly put on your shelf.  It’s like decorations.  I think this kind of sentimentality will have to go – our earth can’t sustain us continuing to live as we always have. 

I think there should be a huge effort to convince schools and tertiary education institutions to move from paper and ink textbooks to e-readers or laptops.  In this way, not only do kids not have to carry heavy books to and from school, they will also get used to electronic books.  This will hopefully then lead to them continuing the habit of buying books in electronic format.  Imagine how many trees will be saved.

Thanks so much for coming by today, Anida! To contact or learn more about Anida and The Ancient, click or comment:

http://www.anida-adler.net

http://www.nadiawilliams.co.uk

About Amber Scott Project

Amber Scott writes romance across time and genre with three things in common: fate, love and complications. You can find her erotica titles at www.LiquidSilverBooks.com.

7 responses »

  1. Amber, thanks so much for having me here today. Your blog page is lovely.

    Reply
  2. It’s always nice to see how other authors view their writing. It gives all of us a sense of belonging to this awesome group.

    Reply
  3. Wow! Great post! Can’t wait to read it!

    Reply
  4. Yeehaa! I just assigned a number to each and every commenter on my virtual book tour, including hosts, then went to my research assistant and asked him to pick a number. He saw no names!

    The winner of the Shannon O’Shamrock bear is Patricia Esposito, who commented on Sheri Lewis Wohl’s blog. Congratulations, Patricia, I’ll email you to get your snail mail address to send your prize.

    Thanks to all who commented, I really appreciated the warm welcomes all over the blogosphere!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

