RSS Feed

Haunting Beauty and Deathly Hallows

I just finished Haunting Beauty by Erin Quinn and absolutely loved it. Her latest story is expertly woven and beautifully told. I also learned a few things from Ms. Quinn’s writing technique. Her descriptions in this book are almost edible. Now, I know from reading up that she’s a “pantser” by nature so I have lots of questions on how she created such dense prose, symbolism and such intricate plot structure. Thanks to her being a fellow Desert Rose RWA, member, I got to ask her to interview for us. My goal date for this will be Sept. 25th, her schedule permitting.

I began Haunting Beauty on the heels of finishing Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. I, again, learned a lot from the Harry Potter series installment. My current work in progress, Realm, requires a lot of world building and in it I’m creating new terms and labels and rules that I’ve been trying to formulate a technique for. After reading Deathly Hallows, I can see more and more of how it works. For one, there are not excuses for what is not there like laptops and cell phones. It isn’t there so why bring it up, right? For another, the spells and curses are a derivative of a word we know already so we can figure it out. Third, each book in the series has a theme. This keeps each book fresh. Each is a new lesson which is crucial in a series, particularly if it is the same hero or heroine in the series.

Next on my list to study is Shadows In The White City by Robert W. Walker. His Dead On Writing is taking me forever to finish because at each new lesson, I smack myself on the forehead and can’t wait to run off and immediately apply it. That’s a good thing. Reading his lessons in application will make them actually stick, I hope.

:}Amber

About Amber Scott Project

Amber Scott writes romance across time and genre with three things in common: fate, love and complications. You can find her erotica titles at www.LiquidSilverBooks.com.

One response »

  1. I look forward to reading your review on Dead On Writing. You make me want to read the Harry Potter series again. 🙂

    Ann C.
    http://www.anncharles.com
    http://www.1stturningpoint.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

