RSS Feed

Interview: Lorhainne Eckhart

First,  thank you to Lorhainne for taking the time out of your schedule to share your book and insights with us. The Captain’s Lady excerpt I’ll post next has quite a hook!

1. How was the idea for The Captain’s Lady born?

The idea for The Captain’s Lady came from a dream.  It was the scene of the rescue, where Abby is lying on the Deck of the Ship.  Out of that and the research I compiled the rest of the story unfolded.

2. If it were up to you, what actors would play your characters on the big screen and why?

Well that’s interesting.  As that was how I saw the story.  At the time who I envisioned playing Captain Eric Hamilton was a young Sam Shepard.  But today

Captain Eric Hamilton – Matthew McConaughey – as he has the ability to pull off the complexity of this character.

Abby –  A younger Nicole Kidman, would either be Lindsay Lohen or Scarlett Johannson – Both could portray a woman who feels things inside so deeply.

Joe – Patrick Dempsey , The Doctor, maybe Mark Wahlberg, Gail – Angela Lindvall

Commander Joan Foxworth – Katie Holmes

The Admiral – Clint Eastwood, because I like Clint Eastwood.

3. What is your writing schedule and how do you make time to write?

I have a structured schedule; I get up at 4 or 5 in the morning and start writing for a couple hours before the kids get up.  When they are at school, I write.  I establish a word count of 2000 words a day when I am writing the novel.  When I reach that I am done for the day, so some days it can be relatively short.  When the kids are home after school, I do not write that is our time.  It is essential with my busy schedule, that I follow this schedule.

4. What do you love most about The Wild Rose Press?

They are very supportive, professional and easy to work with.  They publish quality novels, and are quick to respond to questions.  They have made my novel available to all on-line booksellers and bookstores.  And the bookcover of The Captain’s Lady is amazing.

5. What has your debut experience in publishing taught you about your writing?

That it is possible to write about those hot controversial topics and people really want to read it.  I received outstanding reviews, so it’s kind of a pat on the back for me, of all the hours, research to get this story right, that the readers really enjoy it.

6. What is your favorite excuse to procrastinate writing related tasks?

My favorite excuse is always that I have to clean my house.  And I don’t like cleaning.

7. Considering news like Barnes & Noble buying Fictionwise and new publishing opportunities like Amazon Kindle, Smashwords.com and Scribd.com, how do you envision the future of publishing?

We are in the electronic age, where the flow of information is fast.  Many people are gravitating to electronic readers, for fast easy downloads, portable for a fraction of the cost of a hardcover book.  But they also want the option of what they can read them on, their laptop, iphone, and blackberry.

Will it hurt the publishing world, as we knew it?  I don’t believe it will as long as publishers realize that people want a choice. And let’s face it the vast majority; still gravitate to the bookstore to buy that paperback novel.  That tactile need to be able to hold it in their hand.  That will not disappear.  What I believe we will see is a lot more choices of availability so the reader has their choice. And publishers will all need to provide that option.

What say you, readers? Comments, questions of your own?

Find more about this book and Lorhainne at her website, www.LorhainneEckhart.com and www.TheWildRosePress.com.

:}Amber

About Amber Scott Project

Amber Scott writes romance across time and genre with three things in common: fate, love and complications. You can find her erotica titles at www.LiquidSilverBooks.com.

2 responses »

  1. I really like your movie character ideas – putting a face to the name of each character adds a layer of interest for me.
    I like Clint Eastwood too! But, I can’t imagine Lindsey Lohan playing a very deep character.

    Reply
    • Your right Holly about Lindsey Lohan, it was pointed out to me by a friend of mine, who is an avid movie watcher. That character needs a younger Nicole Kidman. Most likely a fresh new face.
      Thanks for your comments.
      Lorhainne Eckhart

      Reply

Leave a Reply

