RSS Feed

Learning The Hard Way

Will someone please direct me to the nearest rock so I may hide under it?

Okay. Here’s what happened. I read an article about how to get traffic to your blog. What I did, accidentally, today is not how to get blog traffic.

Back to the article. It advised to go to other sites and suggested StumbleUpon as a means to check out other sites and blogs to comment on and build a relationship with. As part of signing up, it asks you to invite friends. I did not want to invite every last person in my address book.

Unfortunately, it thought I did.

I clicked something wrong.

It sent out an invitation to EVERYONE.

That includes friends (fine), family (sorry), customer service addresses (oh well), and any editor or agent I have ever emailed a query. OHHHHH NOOOOO.

Where was that rock again?

Too late now. Can’t undo it. So…now what? Email all those potential career making or breaking persons and apologize? Or cross my fingers and hope their spam will kick it out. Or that they’ll simply delete it, or not make the connection. That doesn’t seem exactly the best, mature, professional tactic, though does it?

So this is what crow tastes like. I’d always wondered….

:}Amber

About Amber Scott Project

Amber Scott writes romance across time and genre with three things in common: fate, love and complications. You can find her erotica titles at www.LiquidSilverBooks.com.

9 responses »

  1. Amber, you are not alone my friend. I did the same thing when I first joined one of the social networks–can’t remember which one right now. It was early, I was operating under a severe deficiency of coffee, and I clicked when I should have skipped.

    Don’t worry about it. Most people have either opened and visited and moved on or it ended up in SPAM. It happens. Don’t worry about hiding under rocks. In a perfect world, this will be the biggest mistake you ever make, right? So take a deep breath and think how you can use this in your next book. 🙂

    Erin Quinn
    HAUNTING BEAUTY, in bookstores NOW!
    “A complex, mysterious and very satisfying story!”
    ~Diana Gabaldon, NYT Bestselling Author.
    HAUNTING WARRIOR, May 2010
    http://www.erinquinn.info

    Reply
  2. Oh, dear. Will it help that I recently responded to an editor’s email and called her by the wrong name? It was a great impression.

    As for this… I would imagine their spam folder will kick it out in many cases. In the ones that don’t – I would also guess they’ve gotten these before. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Don’t let it bother you, there is really nothing you can do about it now, and nine times out of ten they’ll probably delete it before even opening. Remember they are editors and agents and picky about what they read. Another thing is that they probablly have assistants that go through the email and scour them, and throw out whatever is not related to book writing. If by any chance, one (Editor/agent) does open it, there’s always the chance that the conversation can end with a book DEAL!!! Or with a great Agent!!
    Remember thoughts become things- choose the good ones-The Universe-

    Reply
    • amberscottproject

      Thank you for a solid, positive perspective on this, Liz! You’re right. Forget the rock. May it turn into a great conversation piece instead.

      Reply
  4. On another note, if you think of the scads of e-mail agents and editors get every day, what are the chances they’ll remember your address is the one that sent them that bizarre StumbleUpon e-mail that they deleted without reading? Right?
    Hey! I’m in touch with my tour guides tonight because it appears I have a tour date with your very clean and organized site!

    From Sandy Lender
    “Some days, you just want the dragon to win.”

    Reply
  5. Oh wow, I feel for you on this one. Ha! Thanks for the invite, though. 😉

    Ann C.
    http://www.anncharles.com
    http://www.1stturningpoint.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

