RSS Feed

A Matter of Months

The Desert Dreams Writers Conference, in Scottsdale Arizona, April 16-18, 2010, is open to writers of all genres of fiction. This is a great opportunity to meet with agents and editors or to sharpen your craft and be inspired. And the price is very reasonable.

The Conference has a new blog, where you can get special information and soon get updates and read interviews of our speakers, etc.
http://desertdreams writersconferenc e.blogspot. com/

Complete conference, hotel information and registration at:
http://www.desertro serwa.org/ conference. htm

The 2006 Desert Dreams conference is where I got my first requests for partials, where I learned how to pitch, where I took my first baby networking steps. It was so much fun.

I remember being halfway through PlayFling’s first draft this time last year and feeling like it was taking forever to finish. The 2010 ¬†Desert Dreams Conference was on my mind because I couldn’t make the 2008 one. My little girl was still too little to leave for so many hours at a time. Or should I say, my husband was still too scared to be alone with her for that long, her preschool aged brother in tow? Now, here I am, looking forward to releasing and submitting PlayFling, finishing draft one of another manuscript and have only eight short months to go until April.

My change in my perception of time directly corresponds to my children. Now that my little ones are nearing school ages, I catch more snatches to write, to read, to promote. And my patience with myself increases incrimentally as well. When I first began writing with the intent to publish, every day seemed a waste, tomorrow couldn’t get her fast enough. Having children allows me to see the bigger picture now. Each day is a new adventure and I’m far more able to enjoy the journey.

I’m looking forward to the conference more than I can say. The Desert Rose members are such a generous and friendly group plus each conference is loaded with great workshops and¬†networking opportunities. My goal is to have both PlayFling and my current work in progress ready to pitch, maybe a novella as well.

:}Amber

About Amber Scott Project

Amber Scott writes romance across time and genre with three things in common: fate, love and complications. You can find her erotica titles at www.LiquidSilverBooks.com.

One response »

  1. I would LOVE to be able to attend the Desert Dreams Writers Conference. I still haven’t given up hope yet, but unless I get a contract, I don’t know how we can swing it. Grumble grumble, sigh, sigh. One day, I’m going to this conference, and we are going to have a blast!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

