RSS Feed

Progress Report

As I round the 30% corner of my first official round of edits with PlayFling, I thought it would be a good time to share the trials I’m facing. Primarily, overcoming doubt. I have a half finished article entitled “Vanquish Your Doubt Demons”. Note the half of that statement. I couldn’t vanquish my own while writing it. The same is true each day with PlayFling.

With my publisher house editor hat on, I’m far more critical of every written word. Some days I’m quite impressed with the manuscript, even find myself smiling along, laughing out loud. I think this is my ego, maniacally stroking itself. On other days, I stare, wondering, worrying. I worry, what will the world think of this? I have to wonder, as the mother of this little baby, am I too close to see what needs changing?

Sure, I have my critique partner, Karen. Her feedback isn’t always easy to digest but it is also on target. Whenever I am certain she isn’t, if I set down my need for approval (that thing I drag around with me everywhere like a fallen feather boa), I see that she is right. I attack whatever flaw she helped me find. I move on, elated.

Along with edits, my first shot at a cover and this blog, I’ve taken bold new marketing steps, too. I’ve partnered with Goddess Fish to promote other authors, I fed my RSS feed to whomever could eat it, I Twitter and face Facebook. Will it be enough?

Will all of it be enough?

I hope so. At the end of the day, today, for example, it is. I have a goal, I move toward it. I feel accomplished. Tomorrow, I look forward to doing so again. January will be here before I know it.

:}Amber

About Amber Scott Project

Amber Scott writes romance across time and genre with three things in common: fate, love and complications. You can find her erotica titles at www.LiquidSilverBooks.com.

One response »

  1. Doubt demons be damned! Trudge ahead. You can do it! You’re doing so well, hitting your goals. I can’t wait to read the edited version!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

