RSS Feed

The Name Game

I get asked a lot why I write under a pen name. I do so for a number of reasons. One, I have a stalker. NO, really. Two, it’s fun to think up names and imagine huge success, practice for future book signings and what not. Three, my novels are far too hot for some family members so in a way, my pen name protects the innocent.
I picked Scott for my pen name after a childhood sweetheart and favorite movie character. I adore the name. It isn’t in the beginning of the alphabet like I’ve heard editors prefer. There is a historical romance author named Amanda Scott. And there is an actress named Amber Scott (or is she a musician?). With my success at Liquid Silver Books under this pen name, I decided to keep it for now despite that it is a premium domain name that I can’t afford. I do find myself wondering if I somehow chose wrong, if a name can make such a difference as to weigh down my career. What’s great about being a writer is I can change my name and take on a new persona any time. But, it costs all the effort I put into the previous one. For now, I’ll keep Scott.

About Amber Scott Project

Amber Scott writes romance across time and genre with three things in common: fate, love and complications. You can find her erotica titles at www.LiquidSilverBooks.com.

One response »

  1. I like Amber Scott. It rolls easily off the tongue. Plus, you’re right there before me in the alphabet. 🙂

    It’s unbelievable how much time and energy goes into making a name. We don’t realize how much personality and opinion comes from others at just the sound of a name until we have to “build” a new name and reputation.

    Ann C.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

