RSS Feed

What is the Amber Scott Project, exactly?

Okay. Here’s the deal.

This weekend, I read a couple of articles on http://scribd.com the future of the publishing world: http://www.ereads. com/labels/ Scribd.html and http://www.opendemo cracy.net/ article/email/ book-futures. They struck a chord.

A few years ago, I told my husband I thought bookstores would one day carry electronic readers, preloaded with your favorite author’s work, that paper books would become mostly for collectors. He nodded, smiled, I explained further about how this was why I looked to epublishers first for my big break into publication.

Back to the articles. After reading them, my brain began buzzing with ideas. How exciting this could be for all writers! And how much sense it made. What if I published my recently completed manuscript, PlayFling, with Scribd, maybe even Amazon Kindle, too, all the while retaining my own rights, and then simultaneously shopped for an agent? What if I exposed the whole process so others could make a similar decision for themselves, but with an honest picture of what to expect?

Of course, loads of questions and fears took hold of me.

What respectable author would do such a thing? Wouldn’t this be tantamount to vanity, albeit free, self publishing? What happens with promo? Would it kill my chances of making it big? Improve them?

In the end, I decided, what is there really to lose? One manuscript of the many I will write. Right? No one to blame for it’s success or failure but me. What a project. What an adventure!

So, here we are, you and me, from the beginning, exploring every step, every fear, every ridicule and compliment. Can an author make it out there on her own?

We’ll see.

:}Amber Scott

Fate , love and complications

About Amber Scott Project

Amber Scott writes romance across time and genre with three things in common: fate, love and complications. You can find her erotica titles at www.LiquidSilverBooks.com.

5 responses »

  1. Amber, it’ll be fascinating to see how this journey unfolds — I feel like we’re watching an explorer set off for Uncharted Regions!

    Reply
  2. Amber,

    This is quite exciting and I wish you the best. I’ll be checking in and reading all about your journey.

    Reply
  3. Crystal Davis

    I have wondered the same as you. Technology has opened doors that never existed before. A perfect example is YouTube, people have become famous from it. I think your idea is great, but wonder about marketing, how to reach readers? If there was something like YouTube for writers, an organization or group to help promote writers, other than the traditional method. There are so many book clubs out there, it’d be ideal if there was an organization that brought them all together for us to reach out to. Something like Romance Junkies, their concept spread like wild fire.

    Reply
  4. Amanda Nosbisch

    Exciting and innovative thinking, I love it. Go Amber, Go!!

    Reply
  5. I can’t wait to read more! This is going to be exciting. My fingers are crossed for you.

    Ann C.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

